Meet Sam

(Click to enlarge)

Hi! My name is Sam and I'm

Available!
Breed Age Size Gender
English Setter 13 Years 65lbs Neutered Male

Hello! My name is Sam, many of you have already heard about my story from our Facebook page! I came to CAHS after my owner passed away and no one from the family was able to take me in. I came to CAHS in rough shape, I was covered in long dreadlock type mats that hung all the way down to the floor. Many of the mats were covered in poop and I was having a hard time walking around because I would step on the mats and slip. Luckily the staff here shaved me down and I feel much better!

Understandably I do not like to be touched around my collar area. I am very sensitive there because I lived with such long mats pulling at my skin in that area. The mats are long gone but I am still uncomfortable being touched there. I am curious about new people but very nervous of them! I don’t have much experience meeting new people because it was just me and my dad for so long. I have grown to trust the staff here at CAHS but it was very overwhelming when I first met them and I will be overwhelmed when I first meet you as well. I don’t have much experience with other dogs but I do seem to like the ones I have met here! I would do best in a home with another laid back, older dog if I do go home with one. I have not really been around cats before so I am not sure how I would do with them. I am looking for a quiet retirement home that will give me time to settle in. For that reason I cannot go home with any children.

Think you and Sam

Might be a good fit?

Share on facebook
Share me on FaceBook
Share on email
Email me to a Friend